20190429; We are all we’ve got

I know that you look at the people you admire
And think, oh man, they shine so bright
Their beauty is like the sun
It’s just so… in your face
It’s so… effortless.
Whereas, you are like some random streetlight
Whose light is always drowned by the beauty of the sun.
But I want you to know
Beauty is never effortless.
It takes pain and tears
And the courage to stand up despite that pain
To turn a person into a thing of beauty.
It takes constant work
Constant effort
And constantly fighting with yourself
To become someone whose light is bright enough
To make people stare in awe.
And you know what?
I think you should see yourself as someone like that.
As someone beautiful.
Sometimes you shine bright like the sun
And at other times
You are like one of the many beautiful stars in the night sky
A star whose light is only noticed when there is darkness all around
Whose light is only noticed by someone who really appreciates the beauty of the night sky.
And there will be times in life
When you will shine like the sun for a really long time.
But there will also be times
When you will feel like that tiny star
And you won’t even have anyone who notices it.
There will be times when no one will appreciate that beauty
When no one will stand up for you
And at times like those, I’ll be there for you.
I’ll stand up for you.
For every bad thing that people say about you
(That aren’t even true)
I’ll tell you ten good things
(That are true).
And every time you look at yourself in the mirror
And call yourself ugly because of all the flaws that stare back at you
I’ll point to all those flaws, and then some more
And call them beautiful.
I’ll call you beautiful.
Every time people doubt your abilities I’ll be there to remind you
Of all the times you have exceeded everyone’s expectations.
Every time you are in unbearable pain
And feel like every inch of you is breaking apart
I’ll wrap my arms around you
And whisper, “you’re okay, it’s all going to be okay.”
Until that’s the only thing you can hear
Until the sound of your cries
Is drowned by my whispers of love for you.
I’ll do all of that for you.
I’ll do all of that for me.
Just like I always have.
Because I’m all I’ve got.
Because we are all we’ve got.


Leave a comment